Monday, December 29, 2014

Taking things slow with Yukon Cornelius

Ok. I know I should probably apologize for not writing in a while, but I'm not. Really? That's kinda rude blogger! At least a "how are you?" would be nice. 
Well, after the whole on and off drama filled craptastic deal with Sparky, I needed some time off. I needed time to really reflect on both our parts in that epic downfall and give myself some time to nurse some wounds. Geeze blogger, dramatic much? 

Uh no! Remember it takes some time to get over something that significant in your life, but anyhoo back to the subject at hand. What? Are you gonna start rapping "ain't nothing but a g thing" now? Ahh good catch my chickadees and duders, but we both know I'm not that cool. 

So after a hiatus in dating I started dipping my toe in the online dating pool once again because well...that's all I know. I had no luck on my usual dating website of choice and was getting quickly frustrated at the cesspool of trolls I was finding. After one day of reading vile messages from the typical douchebaggery males that lurk on these types of sites, I decided to check my Twitter. Hold up there, blogger! What kind of messages? Like skeezy pervy ones? Like what color panties are you wearing messages? Woah! Someone needs to get laid! Anyhoosers! I started a conversation with a couple of people on there(Twitter). One, who I will later write about turned out to be the definition of an asshole. Not literally of course, but figuratively. The other was, who I will affectionalty refer to as Yukon Cornelius. 

Is he a red headed and bearded guy looking for silver? Are you going crazy and thinking you're in Rudolph the red nosed reindeer? Do we need to lock you up in a psych ward? No, no! He has a delicious beard and made a joke about looking like him when he wears a beanie. He is not a ginger either!

Well, he was talking to a female "friend" of mine and he was flirting with her. She was knocking him because of his beard and I was defending him. Why? Because I'm a huge fan of beards and he desperately needed a wingman. The guy was crashing and burning, but for some odd reason I found it adorable. Somehow the topic of sugar daddy came up and I pushed my Twitter amiga to him.  She, at the time, didn't mind this situation and I'm not one to knock anything. What are you now, a Madame? Who are you?! What happened?! No my babies, I'm not a pimp. Although I wouldn't mind the cool coat and cane. JUST KIDDING! 

Long story short, I kept trying to play match maker, but she found greener pastures and abandoned Yukon. That's kinda sad, blogger. Yeah...not really.  Not for me anyhow. Gross! You went for sloppy seconds and let some guy see you as his second option? It's not like that at all. He jokes that this was his master plan all along and I joke I'm second fiddle, but that's besides the point. After a few messages he propositioned me with the whole sugar daddy/baby thing. I know what you're thinking. How could I be so desperate? I didn't except it. I thanked him for the offer, but told him I would not sale myself.  Why were you being so nice?! You should have told him to fuck off and punched him in the wiener!  Like I said, I don't knock anyone for their "likes". Turns out, that was his test to see what kind of girl I was. Uh huh, so he says. Damn when did y'all become so pessimistic?

After I sent that message I didn't expect to hear from him, but I did. Turns out, Yukon isn't that douche I thought he was. He's actually a sweet guy in a bit of a situation that he's working out. What situation? What's this guys red flag? Is he on parole? No he's not and he's not married or in transition. Ok fine! He's getting out of a bad relationship. But, isn't  that a red flag? Normally, yes, but he's dated other girls before me and I know this isn't rebounding.

Due to this situation and him trying to get things in order it's made us have to take things slow. Which is a complete change to my usual dating predicaments. With Sparky, after date two we were officially a couple and that's pretty much been the pattern. Yukon, doesn't operate things that way.  He's different. Oooh! Different she says. Heard that load of billshit before. Hey! Be nice now, kiddos. 

He's different because he's not trying to rush me into anything and he's actually taking my feelings into consideration. It's almost as if every move he makes with me he actually thinks about how I would feel before he makes that move. :gasps:  I know, right? A male that's actually considerate and thoughtful. I know, that he may feel more for me than he'd care to admit and this probably freaks him out.  Wow, when did you become so cocky? Look, I say this because I feel the same way. It's all so new and with his situation, he needs to be cautious. Anyone who comes out of a bad relationship needs to be a little cautious in the beginning, including me. It's so easy to get swept up in the idea of a relationship. Normally I would throw caution to the wind, but he makes me think about it first. I love that! I've never dated someone with whom we were able to take things slow and let things evolve organically instead of rushing it. Sparky and I rushed things and look what that got us.

Yukon gave me a new appreciation for taking things at a slower pace. I enjoy being in the moment with him instead of worrying about what the future may hold for us or if there will be a future. For once, I'm not trying to predict what's going to happen a month from now. I'm enjoying each date and each moment I spend with him without the dread of trying to be Ms. Cleo. 

So...you're not trying to see if this is a waste of time? I mean, you're not getting any younger. Harsh! No, I'm not getting any younger, but that's ok. I'm not going to rush something that's already good. You know that saying,"sometimes you need to stop and smell the roses"? I don't think that only applies to living life but also to relationships. Things as heavy as this can't be rushed no matter how much we may want to. No, I don't know if I found my forever, but that's ok. Sometimes, you just have to stop treating relationships like a freaking sprint. Stop trying to race your way to finish line. When it comes to relationships, be an old fart and take a leisurely stroll through it. Never know. Might just enjoy yourself. Happy dating my babies! 

No comments:

Post a Comment